Granville Island + Bridges Restaurant

Going to Granville Island brings back great childhood memories. I loved going there as a child and still do to this day. I went with my father a few weeks back and the weather forecast for that day said rain, but it turned out to be a beautiful sunny day.

It must be nice living by Granville Island; nice views and steps away from the public market, what’s not to love?

This will be a combined post of Granville Island and Bridges restuarant review, so it will be longer than usual.

We went to Bridges for lunch and to be honest, I didn’t enjoy it that much. More on that later.

My dad got the Crab and halibut cake burger lime pickle mayo, fries. I took a bite of this and it was pretty good, the crab and halibut cake was nice and crispy.

For myself I got the Free Range Chicken Burger–  jalapeno jack cheese, guacamole, lettuce, tomato, fries. The chicken breast is hidden under the jalapeno jack cheese. The chicken was a tad overcooked but I liked the addition of guacamole. I should have asked for no cheese because it was too overpowering and I ended up just not eating it. I found this burger to be sub-par, but at least the fries were good.

I was really not impressed with the service here, usually I am not picky about these sort of things, but the service was really inattentive. It took forever for someone to take our order and get our bill. I also thought the price of the food here is not worth it for the food you get.

After our meal, we made our way to the public market ( my favourite!)

I love going to the public market and seeing all the fresh produce and other foods being sold.

We bought some Okanagan cherries and they were really sweet.

Some fresh fruit.

I ended off my day at Granville Island with some cookies and cream gelato. I bought this from a cafe tucked away in a corner somewhere and forgot to take down the name of it, but this gelato is like no other I have tasted. It is not as sweet as regular gelatos and there is just something about that makes it different. Overall I really enjoyed this refreshing gelato.

To end off this post, here is a scenic picture

Leave a Reply

