Making Okonomiyaki

Okonomiyaki is one of my favourite Japanese dishes, I don’t know why, but I guess I like pancakes/ cakes in general.

I like making okonomiyaki at home because it allows me to add whatever ingredients I desire ( ha!).

I usually buy this brand of okonomiyaki batter mix fron T&T supermarket. Sorry, I am not sure what the name of this is because it’s in Japanese, but this batter is good for two okonomiayki’s.

I like this brand because it includes more than just the batter mix. It also includes nori flakes, tempa crisp and yam powder and instructions written in English.

For my okonimyaki, I used coleslaw mix ( I was lazy), onions, and turkey bacon. I would recommend you not to use coleslaw mix like I did because it was a bit too bitter.I usually include green onions, but I didn’t have any that day

For this package you will need:

  • 3/4 cups of water
  • 2 eggs
  • cabbage
  • green onions ( optional)
  • bacon ( optional)
  • other veggies you like ( optional)
  • okonomiyaki sauce
  • Japanese mayonnaise
  • Bonito flakes

You start off by mixing the yam powder with 3/4 cups of water until the powder is dissolved

After, add the okonomiyaki batter mix and whisk until blended

Mix until there are no lumps

Add ingredients ( cabbage, green onion, etc) and tempa crisp into batter

Add two eggs and mix

Mix until eggs just covers the ingredients. DO NOT over mix.

Using a non-stick pan, add about a teaspoon or more of oil. Add bacon on top and cook each side on medium heat until golden brown, about 5-8 minutes

Cook until both sides are golden brown and cooked all the way through

Add desired amount of okonomiyaki sauce ( I like to use a good amount)

Add the Japanese mayo

Finish off with nori flakes and bonito flakes. I'm cheap so I buy the smaller bonito flakes because the big flakes cost a lot more.

Here is a close up of it. It was very delicious 😀

And there you have it! Hope you enjoyed this long cooking post about okonomiyaki!


2 thoughts on “Making Okonomiyaki

Leave a Reply

