Dark Chocolate Covered Almonds & Peanut Butter Cups

I love eating chocolate covered almonds but I find the store bought ones are too sweet even if they are covered in dark chocolate. So I decided to make my own by using natural almonds and 74% dark chocolate wafers.

Almonds

Dark Chocolate

The dark chocolate is purchased from Whole Foods and it quite expensive, but I think the quality and taste is worth the hefty price tag. I bought dark chocolate wafers from Price Smart Foods but it was overly sweet and the cocoa % was low.

All I did was melt the dark chocolate using the double boiler method ( bowl over pot filled with water) and dipped the almonds in the chocolate.I placed the almonds on wax paper and popped them in the freezer so the chocolate would harden faster.

Finished product. Not the prettiest but they taste good and are much healthier than the store bought ones 😀

I had some left over melted chocholate so I decided to make peanut butter cups

I used a peanut butter cup candy mold and peanut butter from whole foods.

First I lined the bottom and sides with a thick layer of chocolate and put it in the freezer to harden. After the chocolate has harden, I added peanut butter and flatten it. Lastly, I filled the peanut butter cups with chocolate and popped it back into the freezer.

Here is the finished product. These turned out a lot better than the ones I made the first time. I love Reese’s peanut butter cups but they are quite unhealthy so these are a good alternative for when I’m craving Reese.

On a side note, I use to hate dark chocolate. But now that I have started eating healthier, I have grown to love dark chocolate.

Leave a Reply

