New Years Eve Dinner @ Rhino’s Kitchen

On New Years Eve I had dinner with my parents at a new restaurant in Richmond called Rhino’s Kitchen. I read about it on Chowtimes and wanted to check it out since my dad said the designer of the restaurant had approached him about making some chairs for the place, but later decided she didn’t need him.

The interior is quite interesting, there are pictures of rhino’s on the wall and fake trees and moss to simulate a safari setting.

I like their giraffe printed carpets LOL.

Anyways, on to the food. I got the Christmas & New Years Special

The soup arrived first:

A cream based lobster soup with chunks of lobster in it served with garlic toast. I thought the soup was too salty but it did have ample amount of lobster meat. I could taste lobster throughout the soup, very similar to a lobster bisque.

Next to arrive was the smoke salmon ceasar salad:

No comment on this because I didn’t eat it. All I can say is it was lightly dressed and the lettuce was crisp.

And of course the main course;

I opted for side of dried scallop and egg white fried rice. I asked for my meat to be cooked medium rare and it came out a tad over medium rare but the steak was juicy. The lobster was alright, I wasn’t a fan of the cheese though because it just masked the flavour of the lobster. Overall, I enjoyed the dish.

I didn’t take a picture of the ice cream because there’s nothing special about that.

My parents also enjoyed their meal and said it was prepared nicely. Usually my mom complains about everything but this time she was actually raving about the food! Their menu is small compared to other hk style cafe’s, but I actually like smaller menus. Overall, satisfying New Years Eve dinner.

Leave a Reply

