Healthier Blueberry Bran Muffin Recipe

Finally a recipe post! I love eating bran muffins, but often muffins are filled with sugar, so I modified a bran muffin recipe I found on the back of a Roger’s wheat bran package. To make the muffins healthier, I substituted all purpose flour with whole wheat pastry flour and reduced the amount of sugar as well as substituting half the brown sugar with raw cane sugar. I also used 1% buttermilk for this recipe for a healthier option.

Whole wheat pastry flour can be found at specialty food and grocery stores stores such as Whole Foods and raw cane sugar should be available at your local grocery store.

You can add raisins or other ingredients into the muffins, but I decided to add blueberries since I had some in my freezer.

Recipe after the jump!

Healthier Blueberry Bran Muffins

Yields 12 muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cup wheat bran
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup raw cane sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • about 1 cup of frozen blueberries, slightly thawed

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit or 190 degrees Celsius
  2. Mix together wheat bran and buttermilk, let it stand and set aside

    Wheat bran and buttermilk mixture

  3. In another bowl, combine vegetable oil, egg, brown sugar, raw cane sugar and vanilla. Add to buttermilk wheat bran mixture and stir

       4. Stir together whole wheat pastry flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Add to first mixture and stir until just blended

       5.  Add blueberries and spoon into prepared muffin tins

       6. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until inserted toothpick comes out clean

       7.  Cool off and enjoy!

You can always spoon more batter into the muffin pan if you want bigger muffins, but I like my muffins small and portioned. My family enjoyed these, even my mom, who complains about everything I make!

Leave a Reply

