Sala Thai

M and I went to Sala Thai a while back after class to eat lunch before catching a movie at Scotia Bank Theater. Their lunch menu had a good variety of dishes and weren’t expensive, good for students like M and myself.

We started with an appetizer to share

We decided on the Ka-nam pang na-moo gaideep fried bread topped with minced pork or chcken, served with fresh cucumber salad ($4.25). We went with the chicken and these reminded me of a savory French toast stuffed with chicken. The accompanying cucumber salad was very good and complimented the dish well.

My lunch special came with a soup, the menu didn’t specify what kind of soup, but because of the use of fish sauce, this soup was extremely salty. It was edible after adding water to it.

I ordered the chicken with cashew nutsautéed chicken with cashew nuts, onions, dry red chilies & bell peppers ($8.99).
I thought this dish tasted alright, the veggies were cooked nicely and I enjoyed the crunchy cashews but I found the sauce to be a bit salty for my liking.

M ordered the spicy drunken noodle-fried spicy rice noodles with Thai chili and sweet basil leaves, with choice of beef, pork or chicken ($9.99). I thought this tasted very good with good flavours. I especially enjoyed the addition of basil, it added nice flavour to the dish.

Overall, the lunch specials at Sala Thai are reasonably priced and the food was alright. We were seated at the very back of the restaurant, so service was a bit sparse at first but it picked up later on.

SalaThai on Urbanspoon

 

Leave a Reply

