Guanaco Food Truck

S.A.W asked me the other day if I have ever bought a VANEATS pass, so I dedicate this post to her LOL. Anyways, this is my first time purchasing a VANEATS dining pass. Since I don’t have a credit card, it limits my online purchasing ability, including purchasing other VANEATS passes.

Guanaco serves up Salvadoran cuisine, a cuisine I have never tried before so I was excited to try it. Their brightly coloured red truck is located infront of H-Mart on Seymour and Robson.

Food

The pass included:

  • Pastelesdeep fried maize pocket stuffed with beef/chicken, cheese and vegetable
  • Yuca Frita- deep fried cassava root
  • Pupusas– (I went for chicken) seasoned chicken with vegetables, cheese and savoury refried black beans
  • Curtidopickled slaw

I enjoyed the yuca frita, they were crunchy on the outside and starchy on the inside, but I wish they gave more. The slaw was tangy and refreshing, it went well with the other heavier foods. At first I thought they gave me the wrong pupusas because I could not taste nor see any chicken, but it was indeed a chicken pupusas. The pupusas contained a small amount of finely shredded chicken that was barely detectable (to me). I don’t remember what I thought of the pasteles except it was very cheesy.

It also came with a choice of 3 drinks and I went for the horchata traditional beverage made of morro seeds, ground cocoa, cinnamon, sesame seeds, nutmeg, tigernuts and vanilla. I found it very gritty, but taste wise it wasn’t as sweet as other horchata’s I’ve had.

As you can tell, I am horrible at blogging about food because I don’t take notes but at least I have pictures to make up for that right? Since I am not very familiar with Salvadoran food, I will say that I had a pleasant first experience but probably won’t return due to the abundance of other food trucks in Vancouver.

I will also add that there is no seating nearby, so I recommend you walking to Central library and eating it there like I did.

Leave a Reply

