Life Lately: Food Diary

I hope everyone had a good weekend and Mother’s day! Both my mom’s side and dad’s side of the family had a Mother’s day celebration, so my weekend was filled with gluttony. I didn’t take any pictures from either of those celebrations, but here’s what I’ve been eating lately…

For S.A.W’s late birthday celebration, we went to Richmond Center’s Food Terrace to eat snow ice from Umi. Surprisingly, it was quite good. I’ll definitely be back for some more.

Snow ice from Umi

I went for the green tea snow ice with mango, mochi and pudding while S.A.W went for the strawberry snow ice. The green tea snow ice had a nice matcha flavour, but my only complaint would be that the mango’s were not ripe, therefore it was quite hard. This was very refreshing on the hot weather we were having that day.

After walking around a bit, both S.A.W and I were feeling thirsty from the heat, so we hit up Teavana to check out some teas. We were given a sample of this tea and ended up getting an ice version of it.


Pictures above is the youthberry wild orange blossom blend tea. It reminded me of Starbucks passion tea, but more refreshing and less sweet. This tea is great served iced on a hot summer day.

I had a craving for Vietnamese spring rolls, so Es S and I went to Bao Chau to satisfy this craving. Bau Chau is supposedly known for their spring rolls and calls themselves the “spring roll house” and I must admit, they did not disappoint.

I ordered #36, which is basically everything: vermicelli with minced pork patty, grilled pork, shredded pork and spring rolls. I love getting this at Bao Chau because I like the variety of meats it includes. This time around, the pork was not overcooked and everything was delicious. The last time I ordered this dish, the pork was way overcooked, so I was hoping it wouldn’t be the case this time around.

I had a pack of Japanese curry lying around, so I decided to make beef curry with it. I also added carrots, potato’s and onions to the curry and served it over brown rice.

It was delicious and my kind of comfort food. I also used baby carrots because it takes a lot less time to prep, meaning I can skip the peeling.

Before attending my uncle’s Mother’s Day BBQ, Es S, M and I hung out and went to Aberdeen mall to eat lunch at the food court. I really wanted some takoyaki and despite the steep price ($5.50 for 6 pieces), I went ahead and ordered it at the Japanese stall in the foodcourt.

Along with the takoyaki, which I shared with M, I also ordered something I haven’t had in quite some time

I ordered an egg swirl with beef on rice from Leung Kee Cantonese Food. It was a big portion for $6.50 (plus tax) and tasted great. I’ve tried making this dish at home with no luck, so hopefully Es S, the culinary grad, can recreate this dish 😛

And lastly, I wanted to share a snack I tried which I am pleased about.

I love trying matcha flavoured snacks, but usually they are disappointing because of weak matcha taste. This Picola snack did not disappoint though. Nestled inside the crisp wafer sticks is a sweet, matcha filling. It had a nice presence of matcha flavour which mirrors the tastes of Meji’s matcha chocolate.

So that was my food diary for the past few weeks. I hope you enjoyed this post and let me know if you like these longer post by commenting below or liking this post. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

