How To: Dresses and Skirts for Begginers

I love wearing skirts and dresses simply because I can never find pants that fit me well. I have short legs and bulky thighs, so it’s hard finding jeans that fit me well. Inspired by S.A.W, I decided to make a post about how to style skirts and dresses for those who don’t normally do. I’m probably the only one out of all my close friends who wears dresses or skirts, so I’m going to share some of my tips and experiences. I should also include that these outfits are meant for spring/summer.

My goal of these outfits is to incorporate pieces that you might already have in your closet; t-shirts, denim shirts, cardigans, etc; and show you how to style them with skirts and dresses. I find that for most of my outfits, I can wear them with skirts or pants, but of course I prefer wearing them with skirts.  Dresses and Skirt outfits

 1. The first outfit I put together consist of a basic white tank with a basic black skirt and a cardigan. Everything is solid printed so it’s suitable for those who aren’t into prints. I find a longer cardigan goes well with skirts and dresses. I styled the outfit with blue sandals, which provides a pop of colour to the monochromatic outfit. You could also style this outfit with flats or ankle or combat boots.

2. The second outfit consist of a red polka dot dress with a denim jacket and toms. This is an outfit I would wear if I was hanging out with friends and walking for a extended period of time. This outfit is very casual and not too girly.

3. The third outfit consist of a white cropped topped paired with a blue maxi skirt. I love maxi skirts, they’re great if you don’t want to show off your legs of if your legs a bit fuzzy. Maxi skirts also create a nice silhouette for your body. I find cropped tops go great with maxi skirts because they are the perfect length tops to wear with maxi skirts.

4. The last outfit I have created consist of a triangle printed dress paired with a light wash denim shirt and combat boots. The combat boots give this look a bit more edge. If you don’t like baring your arms, layering a light denim shirt is a good way to cover them.

Here are some more outfit inspirations:
[a t-shirt paired with a pleated skirt and oxford is a great way to transition into skirts]

 [A great wear to wear a maxi skirt: pair it with a v-neck and cardigan]
[t-shirt, black skirt and a denim shirt paired with flats
[combat boots toughens up Rachel’s floral printed dress]
Leave a Reply

