Monday Motivation: On following your dream

I got this magnet when I was at Got Craft? and I look at it when I’m in need of some motivation.

Recently I was in a period of my life where I felt lost. Realizing that I’m near the end of my undergrad with no clear direction of what I want to do afterwards, I was scared. What made matters worst is that I realized that I didn’t want to pursue psychology at the graduate level.

I took a risk and decided that I want to pursue marketing and communications. I knew that I could use my psychology background in marketing, despite what people tell me. I sought out experience related to marketing and communications, and ultimately landed an internship doing just that. I know that after I graduate with my psychology degree, I will have to take some courses in marketing/communications and for once in my life.

The moral of this post is that if you have a dream, take risks and work towards that dream. The journey will be hard, but in the end it will be worth it. I get people telling me that I can’t go into marketing with my psychology degree, but I’m proving them wrong. For so long I didn’t do anything because I didn’t think it was possible but it wasn’t until I took a risk that change happened. I am taking baby steps towards my dream career, one risk at a time.

Thanks for reading!

II

IiIve

Leave a comment